Forms on this page require Adobe Acrobat Reader to view. If you do not have Adobe Reader already installed on your computer, click the Adobe logo below to download.
Any ex-service member who is a permanent resident of Florida and is disabled at least 10% in war or by service-connected misfortune is entitled to a $5,000 exemption. Applicant must submit a letter from the Veterans Administration stating the percentage of service connected disability (10% or more) along with an application, by March 1 of the year you wish the exemption to begin.
Under certain circumstances the benefit of this exemption can carry over to the veteran's spouse in the event of the veteran's death. Applicant must be a spouse of the deceased service-connected disabled veteran who was married for 5 years or more. You must submit a letter from the Veterans Administration stating the percentage of the service connected disability (10% or more) of the deceased spouse along with a copy of your marriage license and spouse's death certificate.
Veterans who qualify may receive a percentage discount on homestead property taxes equal to the percentage of the veteran's permanent service connected disability as determined by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs. The following criteria must be met with documented proof:
When you submit your application, please provide our office with a copy of your DD214, proof of age, copy of rating letter from the Veteran's Administration, along with evidence of the combat related disability.
Application must be submitted by March 1 of the year you wish the exemption to begin.
Any honorably discharged veteran with a service-connected total and permanent disability, surviving spouses of qualifying veterans and spouses of Florida resident veterans who died from service-connected causes while on active duty as a member of the United States Armed Forces are entitled to an exemption on real estate used and owned as a homestead less any portion used for commercial purposes.
To be eligible for this exemption, the applicant must own, occupy and have been a permanent resident of this state as of January 1st of the tax year for which the exemption is being claimed.
If filing for the first time, the applicant must provide a letter from the United States Government or United States Department of Veterans Affairs as proof of service-connected total and permanent disability or the death of the spouse while on active duty.
Please note - Under certain circumstances, the benefit of the exemption may carry over to the veteran's spouse in the event of the veteran's death. Please contact our office for additional information, at 386-736-5901.
A member or former member of any branch of the United States military or military reserves, the United States Coast Guard or its reserves, or the Florida National Guard may receive an exemption if he or she:
The percent of the taxable value that is exempt for the current year is determined by the percent of time during the last year when the servicemember was deployed on a designated operation. As an example, if the servicemember was deployed in support of one of the above operations for six months, the exemption would be 50% of the home's taxable value.
This exemption does not renew automatically every year. Deployed servicemembers are required to apply each year by March 1, as the number of days deployed on the prior year will vary.
The 2016 legislature enacted Chapter 2016-26, Laws of Florida, (HB 7023) effective March 8, 2016, Section 1 updates the designated operations for which deployed servicemembers may qualify for the homestead exemption in section 196.173, Florida Statutes. The updated designated operations are as follows:
Also, it provides that the exemption is available to servicemembers who were deployed during the preceding calendar year on active duty outside the continental United States, Alaska, or Hawaii in support of a subordinate operation to a designated main operation.
Section 2 of the law extends the usual March 1 exemption application deadline for qualifying deployments during the 2014 and 2015 calendar years to June 1, 2016. For the 2016 exemption calculation, the servicemember may include the days he or she was deployed during 2014 and 2015. For a qualifying applicant who fails to meet the June 1, 2016, deadline, the property appraiser may grant the exemption under certain conditions. If the property appraiser denies the exemption, the law provides an opportunity for review by a value adjustment board (VAB). The VAB filing fee is waived. The law provides refund eligibility for 2015 taxes under certain requirements.
Section 3 of the law applies this exemption to ad valorem tax rolls for the 2016 tax year and thereafter.
Any surviving spouse of a first responder who died in the line of duty is exempt from ad-valorem taxes providing the deceased was a Florida resident as of January 1 of the year the first responder died. Applicant must qualify for homestead and submit an application by March 1 with documentation from the first responder's employer stating the cause of death was in the line of duty along with a copy of the spouse's death certificate.