The disability exemption reduces the assessed value of your property by $5,000. This provides a tax savings of approximately $100 annually. Applicants must submit an application along with a statement of disability from one licensed, Florida physician on the state required Form DR-416 or a certificate from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs, or documentation from the Social Security Administration stating you are disabled.
Application must be submitted by March 1 of the year you wish the exemption to begin.
Total and Permanent Disability Exemption (Non Service connected)
- Any real estate used and owned as a Homestead, less any portion thereof used for commercial purposes by any quadriplegic shall be exempt from taxation.
- Any real estate used and owned as a Homestead, less any portion thereof used for commercial purposes, by a paraplegic, hemiplegic or other totally and permanently disabled person, as defined in Section 196.012(10), Florida Statutes, who must use a wheelchair for mobility or who is legally blind, shall be exempt from taxation.*
*Persons entitled to the exemption under number two (2) above, must be a permanent resident of the State of Florida as of January 1st of the year of application. Also, the prior year gross income of all persons residing in or upon the homestead shall not exceed the amount of income, set forth in section 196.101(4), Florida Statutes, adjusted annually by the percentage change of the average cost of living index issued by the United States Department of Labor. Gross income shall include United States Department of Veterans Affairs benefits and any social security benefits paid to the person. A notarized statement of gross income must accompany the application. Refer to form Form DR-501A. The 2023 gross income limit is $34,282.
Please note: If filing for the first time for either exemption, the applicant must provide certifications from (2) professionally unrelated, licensed Florida physicians >OR (1) letter from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs and (1) certification from a professionally unrelated, licensed Florida physician. Refer to Form DR-416.